16th and 17th February 2019 Current Affairs

17th BioAsia Summit 2020 begins in Hyderabad, Telangana


The Government of Telangana is hosting a 3-day long 17th BioAsia Summit 2020 in Hyderabad between February 17, 2020, and February 19, 2020.

The theme of the summit is 'Today for Tomorrow'.

The main objective of the summit is to explore the capabilities of Life Science Companies and their investments.

Switzerland is the partner country for 2020 as part of the annual tradition.


1st-ever Global investors summit 2020 to be held in J&K


The Union Territory (UT) of Jammu and Kashmir's (J&K) administration is set to host 1st ever Global investors summit 2020 in the capital cities of Srinagar and Jammu in the month of April 2020.

The objective of the summit is to attract investment and industries to Jammu and Kashmir's (J&K).


Kerala CM launched "Yodhavu" mobile app to combat drug menace


Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan has launched "Yodhavu" mobile application at Kochi, Kerala. 

"Yodhavu" is a mobile application through which the public can inform police about drug abuse & its distribution and the informer's identity could be kept secret.


Kejriwal takes oath as Chief Minister of Delhi


Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal takes oath as Chief Minister of Delhi for the third consecutive time in Ramlila Maidan.

Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal administered the oath of office and secrecy to Mr. Kejriwal and his cabinet colleagues.

Kejriwal's App won 62 seats in the Delhi Assembly elections, while the Bharatiya Janata Party won won eight seats.

Mr. Kejriwal had earlier taken the oath of Chief Minister in 2013 and 2015.


Donald Trump to inaugurate world’s largest cricket stadium in Ahmedabad


The world's largest cricket stadium, the Motera stadium in Ahmedabad renamed as the Sardar Vallabhbhai Stadium.

The stadium will be inaugurated by US President Donald Trumph during his visit to India.

The stadium has a capacity of 1.10 lakh people.



South Central Railways zone becomes 1st in India to have energy-neutral stations


The Indian Railways South Central Railways (SCR) zone has become the 1st zonal railway in the country to have functional "energy neutral" railway stations on the network.

The South Central Railways has converted a total of 13 railway stations into "energy neutral" stations, which is the highest amongst all the zones across the Indian Railways network.

The energy-neutral railway stations are capable of meeting 100% energy requirements by tapping into solar power through solar photovoltaic panels which have been commissioned at the station buildings.

According to the SCR zone, the total capacity of all the solar panels installed at the 13 energy neutral stations is 99 kWp. The cost incurred is around Rs 50 lakh.


Manipur: Seed sowing festival ‘Lui-Ngai-Ni’ celebrated at Ukhrul


The Naga tribes of Manipur celebrated it's seed sowing festival 'Lui-Nagai-Ni'.

The theme of the festival is "Oneness through Culture".

Manipur's Minister of Tribal Development N. Kayisii graced the festival as inaugural Chief Guest and Tamei MLA Awangbou Newmai as Guest of Honour.


Ambala city bus stand renamed after late Sushma Swaraj by Haryana Govt.


The Ambala city bus stand was renamed after late external affairs minister and BJP veteran Sushma Swaraj.

The bus stand will now be called ‘Sushma Swaraj Bus Stand’.

It is a mark of tribute to Swaraj, launched on 14 February, the birth anniversary of the leader.

She was born in Ambala Cantt and was elected MLA twice from here.

The Ambala City bus stand has been reconstructed at a cost of Rs 18 crore after it was demolished in 2007.


65th Amazon Filmfare Awards 2020 in Guwahati, Assam: Gully Boy’ bags best film


The 65th Amazon Filmfare Awards 2020 even hosted by Karan Johar, Bollywood actor Vicky Kaushal and Varun Dhawan. hosted in Awesome Assam.

List of Bollywood celebrities, who won big at the 65th Amazon Filmfare Awards 2020-

  1. Best Film - 'Gully Boy'
  2. Best Director - Zoya Akhtar (for Gully Boy)
  3. Best Film (Critics) - 'Article 15' (Anubhav Sinha) and 'Sonchiriya' (Abhishek Chaubey)
  4. Best Actor in a leading Role (Male) - Ranveer Singh (for Gully Boy)
  5. Best Actor (Critics) - Ayushmann Khurrana (for Article 15)
  6. Best Actor in a supporting Role (Female)- Amruta Subhash (for Gully Boy)
  7. Best Actress (Critics): Bhumi Pednekar and Taapsee Pannu for ‘Saand Ki Aankh’
  8. Best Actor in a supporting Role (Female)- Amruta Subhash (for Gully Boy)
  9. Best Actor in a supporting Role (Male)- Siddhant Chaturvedi (for Gully Boy)
  10. Best Music Album- ‘Gully Boy’: Zoya Akhtar-Ankur Tewari and ‘Kabir Singh’: Mithoon, Amaal Mallik, Vishal Mishra, Sachet–Parampara and Akhil Sachdeva
  11. Best Lyrics- Divine and Ankur Tewari for “Apna Time Aayega” (Gully Boy)
  12. Best Playback Singer (Male)- Arijit Singh for “Kalank Nahi Ishq Hai Kajal Piya” (Kalank)
  13. Best Playback Singer (Female)- Shilpa Rao for Ke Ghungroo Toot Gaye (War)
  14. Best Debut Director- Aditya Dhar for ‘Uri: The Surgical Strike’
  15. Best Debut Actor- Abhimanyu Dassani for ‘Mard Ko Dard Nahi Hota’
  16. Best Debut Actress- Ananya Pandey for ‘Student Of The Year 2’ and ‘Pati Patni Aur Woh’
  17. Best Original Story- ‘Article 15’ (Anubhav Sinha and Gaurav Solanki)
  18. Best Screenplay- ‘Gully Boy’ (Reema Kagti and Zoya Akhtar)
  19. Best Dialogue- ‘Gully Boy’ (Vijay Maurya)
  20. Lifetime Achievement Award- Ramesh Sippy
  21. Excellence In Cinema- Govinda
  22. RD Burman Award For Upcoming Music Talent- Sashwat Sachdev for URI


Recent Post
prepsutra-app-download android ios

Download the PrepSutra app

Download the app for Android devices and prepare on the go - anytime, anywhere!